US swimmers disqualified after winning world championship race
The United States men's swim team won their relay race at the world championships in Spain Sunday (Aug. 4), but were disqualified after one swimmer started his leg one one-hundredth of a second early.
According to the rules, a swimmer may leave the block for his leg up to .03 seconds before his predecessor touches the wall, but sensors caught Kevin Cordes taking off .04 seconds early. "I thought I hit it perfectly, but I guess I was too fast," Cordes says, according to a report by Yahoo Sports. "There's nothing you can do about it now."
Cordes later tweeted, "Really tough night to swallow. Thanks for all the support it was an absolute honor to represent my country!"
Matt Grevers, Cordes' teammate tried to take some of the blame upon himself. "It's probably my fault, actually," Grevers says. "It's usually the guy coming in. It happens. It happens all the time. It's unfortunate that it happened on the world's second-biggest stage."
Photo/Video credit: Getty Images
Zap2it Elite Sheet Must Reads from the Web's In-Crowd